Heard of Broccoli Sprouts?

If you followed my early blog posts I chronicled my bicycling trip along the Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway in Virginia.  This was a long term planned event to get me out of my comfort zone and do something I had never attempted.  Before beginning those trips in May 2016 I was having some issues with my PSA numbers (prostate specific antigen).  My numbers had been bouncing around for several months and my urologist scheduled me for a biopsy in September.  The results showed there was cancer in two of the samples taken, but further test results reveled the cancer to be slow growing.   My urologist suggest we just watch it for the time being (active surveillance or watchful waiting) and do another biopsy in 5 to 6 months.  Another biopsy was performed in late January 2017 and the results indicated the cancer from this sample was more aggressive than the sample taken earlier.  We discussed treatment options and there were 3 available to me.  One was to continue active surveillance.  The second option was 60 days of radiation, which I did not want to do and my urologist would not recommend because of my age and good physical condition.  The third option was to have the prostate removed, and if the cancer is encapsulated within the prostate this is a cure. So I chose option number 3.  My recovery went well but kept me off my bicycle for a couple of months.

The reason I mention this medical condition was to segue into the point of this blog. Between the two biopsy’s my son sent me a link to a Youtube video about broccoli sprouts and their beneficial effect on cancer cells.  The Youtube video is by Dr. Rhonda Patrick and is entitled “Sulforaphane and its Effects on Cancer, Mortality, Aging, Brain and Behavior, Heart Disease, and more.”  The video is approximately 47 minutes long and is very technical in some spots but overall is very informative.

There are many articles on the Internet from many sources highlighting the benefits of broccoli sprouts.  If you are interested,  I encourage you to do more research.  In the meantime, you can begin to grow your own sprouts.  Here is where I purchase my broccoli sprout kit and seeds.

Briefly, broccoli sprouts are 3 – 5 day old broccoli plants that look like afalfa sprouts but taste like radishes.  They contain high levels of glucosaphane, a cancer fighting phytochemical isolated in 1992 by Johns Hopkins scientists.  When chewed, broccoli sprouts release glucoraphanin that combines with myrosinase, an enzyme found in another part of the plant cell, which work together to produce sulforaphane.  A 1997 study found that 3 – 5 day old broccoli sprouts contain at least 20 times (some researchers say 10 – 100 times) the concentration of glucoraphanin than full grown broccoli.  Which means that broccoli sprouts are rich in sulforaphane and offers promising anti-cancer protection.

2017-02-22_15-47-07_141

Broccoli seeds soaking in jar and sprouts on the right

Sulforaphanes combat cancer through the removal of carcinogens, prevention of cancer cell production, destruction of breast cancer cells, and tumor reduction.  Other benefits include promoting detoxification, lowers cholestrol, improves diabetes, has antioxidant properties, anti-microbial properties, and anti-inflammatory properties to name a few.

2017-02-22_15-46-50_605

Harvested sprouts

Broccoli sprouts are easy to grow.  Place 2 – 3 teaspoons of seeds in your jar or growing container.  Rinse them thoroughly then soak the seeds for 6 – 12 hours.  Rinse again then place the container in an area out of direct sunlight.  Rinse the seeds once or twice a day even after the seeds sprout.  The seeds should begin to sprout in 2 – 3 days.  Harvest when the sprouts are 1″ to 2″ tall.  They will keep in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

You can add the sprouts to sandwiches, salads, combine with other vegetable dishes, sprinkle sprouts on top of a baked potato, add to stir-fry’s, salsa, cole slaw, or add to humus or other dips.  Use your imagination and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

